Many people believe that social networking sites (such a facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Recently, the majority of society member speculate that social networking sites, taking facebook as an example, have adverse impact on personal and communities. However, I believe that there are more beneficial consequences of social networking to the individual but I agree that they have a damaging effect on communal life.

The positive impacts of social media for individual and communities that they have significant advantages which people are easy to communicate with their friends from distinctive countries for connecting each other. The reason for this is that facebook easy access for all people and convenient to communicate without visit the direct places. Besides, social media also provide social group that offers individual a chance to meet and participate in discussion with others who share common interest. For example, international student can interact with their friend from another country on facebook and participate in the video conferencing together which is provided by facebook. Consequently, this way could become an effective method to build a healthy relationship and avoid loneliness.

On the other hand, social media harms individual and local communities to easily find misleading information on social media because there is no legal path established by facebook. For instance, almost sixty percent people living in rural area which extremely difficult to operate network, believe the hoax news as they do not have an accurate information in terms of this news. Consequently, both individual and local communities would be easily to be provoked by the misleading information spreading in the social media.

To conclude, although social networking sites have made be easy for people to communicate, they have not the same effect for individuals and mainstream societies. Nevertheless, receiving a detrimental effect for them, they can be easily found misleading information on social media, especially facebook.