Many people believe that social networking sites such as Facebook have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society To what extent do you agree

Social networking sites, for instance Facebook, are thought by some to have had a detrimental effect on individual people as well as society and local communities. However, while I believe that such sites are mainly beneficial to individual, I agree they have had a damaging effect on local communities.

With regards to individual, the impact that online social media has had on each individual person has clear advantages. Firstly, people from different countries are brought together through such site as Facebook whereas before the development of technology and social networking sites, people rarely had the chance to meet or communicate with anyone outside of their immediate circle or community.

Secondly, Facebook also has special groups which offers individuals a chance to meet and participate in discussion with people who share common interests.

On the other hand, the effect that Facebook and other social networking sites have had on societies and local communities can only be seen as negative. Rather hat individual people taking part in their local community, they are interested choosing to take more interest in people online. Consequently, the people within local communities are no longer forming close or supportive relationships. Furthermore, society as a whole is becoming increasingly disjointed and fragmented as people spend more time online with people, they have never met face to face and who they are unlikely to ever meet in the future.

To conclude, although social networking sites have brought individuals closer together, they have not had the same effect on society or local communities. Local communities should do more to try and involve local people in local activities in order to promote the future of community life.