Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Social networks like Facebook are believed to corrupt individuals in particular and communities in general. As far as I am concerned, platforms like Facebook facilitate the development of all, not worsen them as the connections and convenience brought about by social networking sites are significant and undeniable.

From a personal view, thanks to Facebook, our world has become a “flat” one where connections and interactions could be made from miles away. Therefore, businessmen can boost their sales significantly by selling their products to millions of customers online. In addition, social platforms offer us opportunities to join groups to share our opinions and experience with people with a common interest. During Covid-19 quarantines, these advantageous functions have offered employment to many people and relieved social isolation when people cannot go out.

On the social scale, Facebook along with other networking sites have promoted social justice due to the easiness and security to raise your voice. As a result, warning problems like government corruption and body shaming were heavily criticized, leading to necessary policies made by the authority. Furthermore, via social networks, local communities worldwide can now spread images and videos about their unique culture and picturesque landscapes, which in turn enhances local tourism. Consequently, it is possible for local communities to receive financial resources from tourists and improve their quality of living.

In conclusion, social networking sites have brought about noticeable benefits for individuals and communities regarding connections and financial gains. For that reason, these sites should be encouraged instead of being restricted.