Many people say the gap between rich and poor people is wider, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause and what measures can be done to address those problems?

Despite the world’s economic advance, many people still suffer from the growing disparity between the wealthy and the poor. Personally I believe that the primary implication of this phenomenon is increasing social tensions and conflicts and some changes in tax regulation can effectively tackle this problem.

The most adverse result of economic inequality is social instability. The poor, in fact, often perceive the rich as an evil entity which chronically exploits them for profit and is a big hindrance to their happy life, leading to aggression and hostility. An example is the character depiction in many stories in Vietnam literature. While the rich people are often viewed as greedy and callous villains, the protagonists of the story are always impoverished. There is always an underlying fight of the poor against the rich representing social conflicts happening in real life. Without a doubt, a wide gap between rich and poor people imposes a threat to the safety and stability of society.

In my opinion, introducing laws regarding wealth distribution or taxation is an effective measure to combat economic inequality. People having higher income have to pay a much higher tax, which is subsequently employed to provide welfare for the poor such as free accommodation, free access to education. In Vietnam, for example, the authorities have carried out this initiative for years receiving many positive results. There is no demonstration happening and the living standard of the poor is greatly improved by the support of richer people, resulting in a stable and happy society, The success in Vietnam is a salient example on how a few changes in

regulation regarding taxation can narrow the gap between the wealthy and the poor.

In conclusion, I hold a firm belief that a progressive tax and welfare system can soon eradicate economic inequality and its consequences, such as: social tension and conflicts.