Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the

Internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern technology, it is believed that a virtual classroom that allows students to view videos and presentations through Internet-based applications including available useful knowledge is replacing the function of schools. In my opinion, both online learning platforms and schools make a significant contribution to learning outcomes.

On the one hand, there are ways for children to learn from the Internet, most of which are either free or affordable for almost everyone. Firstly, children can learn a great deal of knowledge about culture, science, and many other aspects which they are taught at school, ranging from online newspapers and video websites such as National Geographic and Youtube. In addition, tailor-made computer programs are substituted for textbooks, many of which are obsolete and not able to help students adapt to today's ever-changing world. Secondly, technology can help develop many practical skills, including creating presentations, learning to differentiate reliable from unreliable sources on the Internet, maintaining proper online etiquette, and writing emails. As a result, they can participate in online courses which are advantageous in the sense that children can flexibly choose to study whatever subjects they are engaged and interested in.

On the second hand, my conviction is that formal education is irreplaceable in any society. It is trued that students can acquire knowledge at home very easily with the help of the Internet, however, lack of teacher guidance and peer support is a clear drawback to this form of learning. These factors are extremely important to a child’s intellectual development, which emphasizes the necessity of school environments. Furthermore, knowledge and skills are not the only things to expect from formal education but social relationships and mental development. Children who go to school and establish friendships can both have fun and improve their learning results.

In conclusion, the Internet is a strong tool for students to study at home, but I think that claiming schools are irrelevant to children’s learning because of this is merely absurd.