Many people use social media to get in touch with other people and know about news events. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in recent years, a tremendous number of individuals have used the internet for communication and keeping up to date with recent events. While there are some clear drawbacks of this trend, I would argue these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are two major disadvantages that people may face when using social media. Firstly, the overuse of social media may cause communication disorders. Although social media is a strong tool for communication between individuals regardless of geographical distances, it causes detrimental effects on face-to-face communication skills such as hand signs or postures. Consequently, a person who abuses this type of communication may lose the communication skills that are essential for every daily life activities. Secondly, the overwhelming flow of news could raise confusion about the authenticity of news. With the exceptional growth of the internet, many criminals are taking advantage of the internet and spreading fake news, and toxic content to serve their own purposes, which causes a threat to national security if the information on the mass media is misused.

On the other hand, the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. One reason for that is the huge contribution of the mass media to the economics of the world. Because of how easy it is for one person to connect with other people around the world, it gives opportunities for one country to promote the process of importing and exporting commodities and resources by setting up communication methods through the internet, for instance, emailing or online meetings. Therefore, It promotes trading between businesses around the world and leads to the skyrocketing economy of nations around the globe. Another reason for this is a good tool as a source of information. If people can find a reliable media channel, they can take advantage of the vast and trustworthy information to their interest, both economically and for the sake of safety. The weather forecast or the fluctuation in the prices of gold can be taken as good examples if people can utilize their tool.

In conclusion, despite the threat to users' health and national security, the merits that benefit the economy and informants have outweighed the mentioned demerits.