many people use written language in a less formal way and in a relaxed way than in the past.

why is that so?

Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

it is well documented that there has been a paradigm shift in the public writing style to an informal register. Such development originated from the requirement to simplify language in paperwork and also personalize messages between people. Therefore, such change is by and large positive.

With the rapid explosion in population and then volume of documents, formality in writing has been eradicated to facilitate procedures, such as Visa Application, regarded as a formidable obstacle to the efficacy of a business. Such trend is widely evident in developed countries where filling form has been reduced to ticking on available options with only a few words needed, and this has enormously decreased the completion of these written records from hours to minutes. Furthermore, the use of ordinary vernacular, such as figures of speech, has also made one’s writing less starchy yet more conversational in a fashion that could attract greater attention and audience, which has proved to be an effective tool for today’s writers and management.

As a result, this trend has been of great benefit to society. For example, applicants are now less perplexed by questions in a form, thereby producing fewer mistakes and bettering the workflow of an organization. And this obviously can help minimize the costs from waiting. As to personal writing, the use of verbose language will certainly inhibit others from sustaining the conversations, while that of informal features, such as exclamations or slangs, can certainly generate the opposite effect. One should, nevertheless, not downgrade the advantage of sophisticated language, such as terminologies, which is an indicator of an individual’s sophistication and depth of knowledge.

in conclusion, the prominent reasons behind the change from formal to less formal register are mainly related to the demand for avoiding unnecessary complications in communication; However, there are occasions where “complex” language is of utility.