Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention in school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

Inattentiveness of students in the classroom seems to be a universal problem. In this essay, I argue that the old-fashioned teaching methodologies are largely responsible for this and propose that schools should redesign their curriculum to counter this issue.

Outdated approaches to education are the main reason which causes difficulties for students to concentrate in school . Grueling hours drain their attentional stamina and make them inattentive in class. Students around the world are assigned a schedule that resembles a nine-to-five workday, perhaps intentionally to correspond to their parents’ working hours. This situation is further aggravated by obsolete pedagogical practices which favor mechanical recitation and memorisation. It is common practice in some countries that schoolchildren from a young age are taught to memorise lengthy predetermined answers from the beginning of their course to prepare for exams. Gradually, this method makes the student mentally exhausted and it extinguishes any enthusiasm they have in the classroom.

The aforementioned problems are the consequence of having a school system that has been virtually unchanged in decades so solving them requires innovative measures. While schools may not have to drastically reduce the hours, they should lighten the information load for their students. Redesigning the schedule necessitates the introduction of interactive exercises and games to the lessons, which have been verified by studies to stimulate students’ curiosity and thereby improve their attention span. Furthermore, being able to relate issues from their daily life also enhances concentration. Therefore, sessions in which students are forced to memorise and recite dull facts should be replaced by practicums which teach the students to find solutions for real life problems.

In conclusion, replacing the outdated and ineffective teaching methods is fundamental to capture students’ attention and kindle their interest in learning. I firmly believe that the current school system needs to be changed dramatically.