Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention in school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

A common issue that many students may relate recently and try to find out a way to solve is being hard to concentrate in school. As part of them, I would like to discuss about the main causes and straightforwardly delivery some practical solutions as well.

One of the most common reason is lacking interest. When they are made to do the things they are not concerned about, paying attention is the cause of forcing. For example, there is a student who love maths, and all the things he can think of in art class is about how to draw the circles with the similar size instead of enjoying playing with colors. Therefore, the attention does not come naturally. To simply help students deal with it, school can contribute to introduce more optional subjects that students are able to choose to learn. The concentration will be increased when students are free to do what they love.

Beside the favor affection, mental health actually involve in making learners find it hard to focus on coursework. The mental illnesses as depression, anxiety, ADHD, etc are scientifically proven to impair the brain development and damage the focus system. For instant, literally, loosing attention now is listed as one of the symptoms of the illnesses addressed; and many diagnosed patients notify that they cannot focus on any kind of works for even five minutes straight. To promptly prevent the consequence, the school attendants themselves should notice their mental health and ask for the treatment as soon as possible. Beside that, school managers are also responsible for building up the psychology consultants team to send help to anyone feeling the need. The pupils that receive the support on time will sooner recover and be more passionate for the subjects.

To sum up, the absence of interest and poor mental health accurately lead to loose focusing among many students. To face these issues, introducing more flexibility into the curriculum and evolving mental health care system should be recognized and administrated.