Many women are choosing to have children later in life. Why is this? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern society, more and more women tend to delay parenthood. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and I would argue that the benefit of tendency is less significant in comparison with its drawbacks.

To begin with, there are two primary reasons for the claim that an increasing number of women prefer to start a family later in their life. First and foremost, women in the modern age might be career driven and climb up the corporate ladder. It means that they want to achieve that feeling of accomplishment first before devoting a huge amount of time to build up a family because in many cases women cannot maintain a healthy work-life balance. Furthermore, being financially capable also affects the decision of women about giving birth later as they want their offsprings to grow up to be well behaved and emotionally stable without the need for family financial support. For instance, many children have to drop out of school to shoulder family financial burdens.

According to the health issue, I strongly believe that the drawbacks of this trend are outweighed by advantages. On the one hand, giving birth to the first children at an old age could bring dangerous complications to both pregnancies and their child. This is because women’s fertility begins to decrease at age 30 which puts their children at higher risks of birth defects such as Down, intelligent disability and other diseases related to gene mutation. More than that, pregnancies also are more likely to suffer from cardiovascular problems, diabetes, high blood pressure or even leading to mother’s death during pregnancy. In other words, delayed parenthood usually involves medical consultation in order to predict the rate of birth defects in their children.

To conclude, it is obvious that there are various reasons for putting off having kids and some benefits behind these reasons. Despite that, I concur that the disadvantages of this decision are more significant than the advantages.