In today’s world, people are constantly surrounded by advertising. What do you think of this trend?

In this information age, the pervasiveness of advertisements has no longer been an unusual thing and it has ingrained in people’s everyday lives. While some people advocate that they can gain several merits from advertising, others claim that it causes a barrage of problems. From my point of view; however, I am for the former idea that the advantages of advertising outweigh the disadvantages.

Admittedly, there are undeniable drawbacks of the advertisements. It is obvious that some of the posters or billboards can provide false images of the product. As the company wants to maximize the profits and gain more revenues, they tend to present their goods in the best light possible and that glorifying pictures can manipulate people into making unworthy purchases. Moreover, the advertisements not only induce people to make impulsive purchases but also mislead the consumers to the bad self-images. For example, some women may see the beautiful and perfect body of some models in fashion advertisements and aspire to that goal, which can be an unrealistic and unattainable dream. Not achieving those goals from the advertisements can cause the feeling of discontent with life.

However, there are a myriad of reasons why I believe that advertising is beneficial. The first thing to notice is that it will contribute to the economic growth of the country. As the advertisements on social media, billboards and the like can inform consumers about diverse choices, they can attract more sales and purchases. They can also spread the word about the goods faster than word of mouth, so the company can maximize the profits from timely sales. Another thing worth considering is that the public services can take advantage of the advertising. Take the advertisement about cigarettes as an example, only after it is broadcasted on television programmes can the citizens be more aware of the ramifications of smoking. As a result, people will have better accessibility in some societal activities not only including health but aloso news about politics, economics, etc. Ultimately, they will have a chance to actively engage in the betterment of society.

In conclusion, although the advertisements, to some extent, are fraught with some problems, I am convinced that they will offer people better benefits including higher economic growth, better information and awareness, and better connection to the society.