In modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals for food or use animal products, for instance, clothing and medicines. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, some people opine that there is no need to laughter animals for food or other products such as drugs and clothes anymore. In my opinion, I disagree with this viewpoint to some extent. While I agree that synthetic products can replace the use of animals for clothing, I still believe that animals play a key role in the food chain and medical research.

On the one hand, there are some situations where human can avoid killing the animals for daily products. As the industrial world is developing continuously, many synthetic materials, including cloth, have been created with high quality and diversity in color to serve people’s demand of fashion. Therefore, animals such as bears, tigers or crocodiles are no longer hunted and killed for their fur and leather to make clothes.

On the other hand, the use of animals in terms of food production and medicines testing is undeniably important. Food from animals provides people with necessary nutrients for their physical developments. For example, meat from cows and pigs supplies people with protein, which helps build up their muscles and provides them with enough energy for daily activities. Furthermore, using animals is indispensable in experimenting the safety of new drugs for medical treatments. In fact, the aim of creating medicines is to save human’s lives so human cannot be used as experimental subjects which is too life-risky. As a result, the only alternative option is to test on animals although there are some arguments that it is unethical. In fact, in some cases, animals benefit from the experiments where the drugs work effectively and save these animals’ lives, thus contributing to the official use of these drugs to treat and cure human beings.

To conclude, while it is possible to replace animals’ fur and skin with synthetic cloth when making clothes, I believe that human still needs animals for nutritional products and the tests of new medications.