In more and more countries, people choose to give money on special occasions rather than personally giving gifts. Why might this be the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Presenting a gift in one’s special day receives fewer interests among society from many nations, they tend to handle recipients a cash-filled envelope. This essay will outline the reasons behind the problem, however, I would initiate to greater disadvantages.

First of all, one of notable reasons is that monetary gift is more likely practical and functional to meet someone’s financial value, implemented in Korean wedding. Most of congratulatory money from guests are used by couple for paying receptions charge and somewhat for honeymoon purpose. Furthermore, the homogeneity types of personal gift selection fail to meet recipient's preferences resulting in wasteful stuff. Regarding that, in Western society, people are used to entail gift interests in the invitation which should be selected by the givers, potentially causing difficulties for them to grant such lists.

On the other hand, we should emphasize some drawbacks of this is that financial gift may be seen less thoughtful lacking emotional connection. Seemingly, older age groups avoid giving money, especially on Christmas in which they should engage deeper on their family relation as well as representing the value of loving and caring. Moreover, perceiving cash for certain occasions is considered to be indifferent and rude, reflecting unwillingness to put some effort to gift-giving. Gift Idea Space explained s that, in spite of easily acceptable, those who hand over gifts to their beloved ones will be remembered so that its existence can be appreciated and used indefinitely.

To sum up, several reasonable factors lie behind the tendency of giving money on special occasion including financial function and averting inefficient gift. Meanwhile, I would refute the demerits of this ranging from declining people’s bonding relationship to perceiving negative personal values.