More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that many people love to buy designer brands of consumer goods. While some reasons can be suggested to account for this, I would argue that it is a completely negative trend.

The principal reason for the popular desire to own designer brands is the influence of the advertising industry. Consumers are easily swayed by advertisements and large corporations use brand awareness in order to promote their products. One of the strategies employed by the marketing industry is celebrity endorsement. For example, commercial advertising may associate a particular product with a sporting hero or film star, and a footballer such as Cristiano Rinaldo adds to his already fabulous income by promoting deodorants and sportswear for men. By buying the product, consumers dream they somehow share the glamour and success of these celebrities.

I believe that this is an undesirable development for two reasons. Firstly, in order to gain a competitive edge on their competitors, large companies do market research to discover where and how to advertise their goods. Brands are usually expensive for people to buy, so the companies focus on promoting a luxury image, to make consumers pay more because, after all, one perfume or handbag is little different from another. Secondly, by persuading people that they can enjoy a desirable lifestyle by buying a particular brand of product, consumers are manipulated to buy goods impulsively. They can then post photos of themselves, with their designer clothes, bags or cars on social networking sites for all their followers to see.

In conclusion, the desire to own designer label products is created by advertising, and I believe that it is a negative development which involves the manipulation of consumers.