Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention at school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

Mindfulness of lectures in school is indispensable to academic success. However, many pupils nowadays have difficulties in concentrating on their lessons. To the best of my knowledge, differences in learning styles and the excessive use of electronic devices might be the causes of this phenomenon. Therefore, joint actions from both school officers and students are necessary to tackle this problem.

Firstly, distractions during learning time might arise from variations in learning styles. By way of explanation, many students are active learners while others are passive learners. Normally, passive learners prefer absorbing knowledge given by teachers passively while active learners are usually energetic and require direct involvement in lessons to obtain knowledge. Therefore, in “conservative” education where permission from teachers is required for the students to share ideas like in Vietnam, Korea and China, students who are active learners might feel bored and distracted. Another reason is the disturbance caused by electronic devices, especially mobile phones. Given that students bringing their mobile phones to school is common nowadays, notifications and messages from their phones or their iwatches can disturb them. Worryingly, some students even try to play games or text with their friends during class hours. As a result, focusing on lessons becomes demanding and their academic performance worsens.

However, there are possible solutions to help students put attention to their lectures. Firstly, to be involved more in the contents of lessons, active learners can prepare and read all the documents or information related to the lessons in advance at home. By doing this, energetic students could understand more about what they learn in school and raise more questions instead of listening to their teachers passively. Moreover, teachers should also create a welcoming learning environment where students can discuss the lessons easily. Moreover, to avoid electronic devices from distracting students, school officers could apply strict and specific rules about the usage of them in school. For instance, many schools in China ask their students to give their phones to an officer so that he or she could lock them in a box. Therefore, except for emergency calls from parents or relatives, their phones will be kept away from them in school.

In conclusion, the attention span of some children during learning times becomes shorter because of several reasons. However, efforts can be made by schools and students to solve this issue.