Most countries want to improve standard of living through economic development, however, others think social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the majority of nations focus on thriving economic development which will flourish living standards. This issue, personally, I believe would bring considerable merits for several reasons which I will elucidate more below.

Perhaps, in my standpoint, many countries presenting strong economic growth could provide better public services such as healthcare sectors which will bring up a better quality of life. In connection with receiving numerous tax revenues in all sectors, If the government allocated huge budget in such sector, medical equipment would be more sophisticated so as to assure community’s primary care without suffering financial hardship. Furthermore, an incremental Gross Domestic Income significantly creates various job creation which will lessen impoverished communities in a nation. Reported by World Bank, the high absorption of labour demand has proved to increase Indian income which could reduce poverty rate by 12% resulting in a better welfare and prosperity.

On the other hand, it seems to me that, the tendency of societies who prioritise to earn numerous dollars could induce egocentric character pictured by developed countries. Following with hustle and bustle activities in work days, they prefer recharging their energy at home to be productive at work in the next days to joining social event surroundings. If they face an emergency situation at home, the fewer possibility they will immediately receive a help nearby. Moreover, advanced societies start showing more materialistic value to others. Instead of purchasing necessary products, they more likely purchase luxury ones aiming to flaunt their possession and social status.

In conclusion, while highlighting economic growth seems noticeable drawbacks of welfare standard to some extent. I would contradict that the benefits of this are more significant including better quality of well-being and stronger social protection.