Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals;

during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In today's modern world, it has been ubiquitous for people to spend time for themselves on festivals instead of practising some traditions on these days. As a result, some contend that the meaning of the religious festivals has not been kept in mind of others anymore. From my point of view, although some people have fun on festivals, it does not mean that they have forgotten the meanings of them.

Alumitteddy, it is obvious that mest people deem festivals as celebrations and their own off-work time nowadays. In lieu of practising some religions, they are lilkely to go on a holiday trip with friends or family on certain festivals. Take Christmas as an example, it has been considered as a time for shopping, giving presents rather that a traditional day.

However, there are a myriad of reasons why I believe people have not neglected the underlying meanings of festivals. The first thing to notice is that they have been informed with fairy tales, or lessons at schools since small. Thus, the information and knowledge has ingrained in their mind even when they grow up. Another thing is that the surroundings including teachers, parents and the like will always remind people of the meaning of the festivals. For example, by celebrating Halloween, people can learn about the history of that day through stories and cosplaying the characters is a a way to turn the myth into reality. Because of that, people can be passed on the meaning of special occasions while having fun in their own way.

In unclusion, while festivals are celebrated in a quite different way and become people's own time, I am convinced that the history and meanings hidden behind them are not blurred as people have always been remindee of them from school to daily life.