Music plays an important role in society, others think it is simply a form of entertainment for individuals. Discuss both and give your opinion.

The influence of music on individuals and society has been a topic of interest for years. Some maintain that it has the power to create significant social impacts, others believe it is just for entertainment. This essay will discuss both perspectives and elaborate on the reason why I lean toward the former one.

On the one hand, many individuals turn to records and musical performances for relaxation. In fact, the therapeutic effect of music has been proven scientifically as researchers recorded an increase in positive hormones such as endorphin and dopamine, which are known to ease pain, relieve stress and tension in subjects’ brains when they were listening to pieces of music. Moreover, a multitude of individuals opt to share their songs or attend live musical performances alongside their cherished friends and family. Engaging in this practice not only allows them to relish precious moments with loved ones but also fosters a profound sense of belonging and gratification within them.

On the other hand, music can be of significance to the economy and a driving force of social change. In terms of economic effects, companies in the music industry are generating billions of dollars in revenue each year thanks to the sales of albums, tickets to live shows and contracts with advertising agencies. In Korea, for example, music companies have contributed more than $15 billion to the nation’s GDP yearly, highlighting the country’s economic success in recent decades. More significantly, musical masterpieces have contributed to fundamental social developments. A compelling example is songs in the late 60s such as “Run Through the Jungle” by CCR which touched the hearts of Americans and encouraged them to rally against the Vietnam War, demanding the complete withdrawal of their troops out of the Southeast Asian country.

In conclusion, both sides of the argument have their own merits. However, I consider the influence of music on fostering social change and economic development to be remarkable even though it might just be a stress reliever to some people. In my opinion, governments are to provide not only formal encouragement but also financial support to musicians, singers and producers so as to enable their talents to flourish.