Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Regarding the growth in popularity of medical research that entails animal testing, opinions differ as to whether such a practice should be sustained or not. I am of the opinion that animal testing is morally injustifiable and attach importance to the development of alternative methods.

On the one hand, animal testing is undoubtedly a highly effective method of medicinal test. As animals namely rats and apes display a broad range of genetic traits similar to human’s, they are widely employed to investigate treatments for human diseases. To specify, if any undesirable side effects are observed, alterations will be made to the medicine, thereby lowering the risk of medical complication in human. Vaccines, for example, require countless trial on animals before being officially introduced and applied to the masses.

On the other hand, animals are human’s fellow living creatures that deserve respect as well. As a matter of fact, drug testing procedures have caused intense sufferings for numerous animals. To illustrate, unsuccessful trials may culminate in their malfuntion, disability, impairment and mortality. Everyone aware of the fact that the pharmaceutical products they are using are the byproducts of animal torture may feel a level of guilt. Furthermore, non-animal testing, including the replication of human tissues and cells with the assistance of advanced computer-modeling techniques, has been examined by prominent scientists with successful outcomes. Therefore, the exploitation of animal can be gradually eradicated.

In conclusion, animal testing is against moral values and more effective alternatives should be developed in the interest of not only human’s health but also animals’.