Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Regarding the growth in popularity of animal-based medical research, although there are some arguments in favour of animal testing, some believe that it is immoral to take advantage of these innocent creatures. I am of the opinion that animal testing is morally injustifiable and alternative methods should be applied.

On the one hand, advocates of animal testing argues that it is instrumental in evaluating the effectiveness of new drugs. The reason for this is that animals namely rats and apes display a broad range of genetic traits similar to human’s, therefore, they are widely employed to investigate treatments for human diseases. To specify, by observing animals injected with new drugs, necessary alterations will be made to the medicine to eradicate any undesirable side effects. In contrast, if human were to be treated with unregistered medicines, they may have unpredictable effects on body organisms, or even kill in single dose.

On the other hand, most arguments against animal testing revolve around ethical issues. As a matter of fact, drug testing procedures have caused intense sufferings for animals. To illustrate, unsuccessful trials may culminate in their malfuntion, disability, impairment and mortality. Everyone aware of the fact that the pharmaceutical products they are using are the byproducts of animal torture may feel a level of guilt. Furthermore, non-animal testing, including the replication of human tissues and cells with the assistance of advanced computer-modeling techniques, has been examined by scientists with successful outcomes. Therefore, non-human research should be carried out rather than using animals, human’s fellow living creatures.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the benefits to humans do not justify the suffering caused to laboratory animals. It is high time effective alternative methods were embraced.