Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this is a bad example to adolescents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, many traditional values have dramatically changed. There are lots of world- renowned individuals who are famous for their high living standards rather than their personal success. In my opinion, I strongly criticise this way of life owing to the fact that it can generate negative influence on the young generation.

On the one hand, this celebrity's wealthy acquisition provokes a squandered lifestyle. Having the easy money inherited from parents, they have the tendency to waste it for leisure activities rather than investing it to acquire a consolidated financial state. Britney Spears who was renowned as the Pop Princess is a prime example of this. Because of her impulsive buying, she now has to live in poverty and burdens an enormous debt. In the end, the far-reaching consequence is that the adolescents might imitate this lifestyle, ruining the future of a whole nation.

On the other side of the argument, only the success of celebrities is the thing that is worth learning. A memoir of one talented singer who overcame his adversity in order to chase ambition is always an inspirational story for the young generation. For instance, despite dropping out of university, Bill Gate fought his way through social prejudice and became a billionaire at a very young age. These personal achievements serve as the motivations for the adolescents to get out of the comfort zone and try to be the best at their field.

In all, the celebrity is the one who young people look up to and they can either provoke a squandered lifestyle or inspire them to be the better version of themselves. However, it is the adolescents who must have their own judgment to choose who to learn or to criticise.