Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, it is apparent to see an increase in the number of individuals who prefer to have substitute sources of treatments than to have support from ordinary doctors when they get sick. In my opinion, this development is negative for people due to a lack of accurate and effective solutions.

It is undeniable that educated doctors are likely to provide more accurate treatments to their patients. Before being real doctors, those talents have to be educated for about 8 years in related education systems. They are taught carefully about how to diagnose to find out a correct symptom. Furthermore, official doctors will treat their patients equally by their hearts and souls rather than being controlled by other factors, including social status, money, etcetera. Take Mister Nguyen Van Khue who is an officer in Danang as an example. He used to be diagnosed inaccurately when using an alternative treatment provided by his mother instead of going to a reliable hospital. Consequently, his sickness was worse day by day and could not be cured when coming to the hospital after that.

In addition, medicines given by the hospital and well-educated doctors are more effective than most of those from unknown healers. Healthcare is the most important field in the world as it can affect human beings’ lives. Therefore, all the medicines have been examined well in order to ensure that the receivers can minimize the side effects of those treatments. In Vietnam, some individuals living in minority regions when get a cough, they will use wild ingredients, such as leaves, and mushrooms, as sources of medicine by boiling and drinking them every day. The Ministry of Health always warns its citizens not to utilize those ingredients as they can cause bad damage when they are taken wrongly.

In summary, I do agree that choosing alternative methods rather than treatments from professional doctors to recover from sickness will be a bad choice because it can badly harm people’s health.