Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different views among university students regarding the importance of diversifying their learning or just solely focusing on the main subjects. While some students argue that they are fond of having other subjects besides their main schedules, some believe that they should spend all their time and attention studying in order to get a qualification. This essay will discuss these two perspectives before concluding that I am in favour of the former.

On the one hand, some reasonable ideas are supporting the statement that university students should give their effort mostly in studying for a certification. First and foremost, It is vital for the students to understand well the whole concepts and definitions related to their majors. Such complex things will affect their work in the future so spending time focusing solely on major disciplines will assist the student to better learn those terms as they will not need to separate their time into smaller slots for other things. Furthermore, when the students do not waste their time on irrelevant courses, some of them can utilize their free time to dive deeper into research to explore useful scientific results which can help enhance human beings’ lives. For instance, healthcare students can take time to research new methods that cure mankind from diseases that still do not have medicines.

On the other hand, I fully agree with the idea that students should have chances to study supplementary subjects in addition to their main ones. By doing so, learners may broaden their understanding of other majors. This can help them to gain comprehensive knowledge of other kinds of jobs and increase their competitive advantages when going to work. Enter International University - VNUHCM in Vietnam. It can be seen that the students majoring in Marketing have opportunities to participate in financial workshops at the School of Economics and Finance. As a result, future marketers educated from this school have general views about finance which may somehow help them in the forthcoming days. Additionally, supplementary courses can be about soft skills that are extremely necessary for nowadays students. Growing up in the era of Information technology, children, these days, lack numerous types of soft skills, such as communication skills, problem-solving skills, etcetera. This will negatively impact their opportunities at the workplace.

In conclusion, there may be some mixed opinions related to whether students have both main courses and supplementary ones, I am convinced that it would be better for children to gain more knowledge of other fields rather than paying attention only to specific ones. By adopting a diverse understanding beyond their primary field of study, they may have more opportunities for their future careers and develop helpful soft skills, including critical thinking skills.