Nowadays, international tourism is biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you believe

Opportunities to connect nations are flourishing, thereby giving wings to tourism industry. Sadly, it is reported that discrepancies in culture between nations creates tension among people rather than harmony. However, I partially agree with this thought and in this essay will discuss about reasons for this tension and ways to avoid this.

Advertisements and promotions create awareness of different exhilarating tourist spots. Moreover, when these are publicized online, it reaches to wider public thus, attracting local and international tourists. There are various elements that build up stress between these two parties. Firstly, local expect visitors to assimilate with their culture that they believe can be shown through clothing and other gestures. For example, type of clothes European wears completely differs from south Indian local. As, in India, bodies are protected like treasure while foreigners believe in being independent. Secondly, animals are considered as family members and can be taken in restaurants and other public places in foreign countries. In contrast to this, most of the places restrict entry of animals in public places in India. Thirdly, in Arab countries, culture is quite different and it is very difficult to see woman driving. So, through these points it is quite evident that disparities in culture of tourists and locals may turn the trip chaotic rather than happy.

However, when tourists are visiting the public spots, they should be accepted warmly irrespective of their culture. After all, a guest should be respected in the host country as they are new to the place and also have a communication gap due to the language. Additionally, if only we could provide comfort to the guests they will be willing to merge with the local culture. Hence, thinking should be broadened and discrepancies should be accepted.

Certain cultures of visitors can be accepted like clothing but other cultures that greatly affect sentiments of locals like no footwear at religious places should be considered. So, having rules at certain places is acceptable. To add, providing brief idea of culture of that place through blogs can be quite helpful for tourists to plan their trip and make it enjoyable.

To Summarise, tourism is a chance to cut the gap between nations and it can be achieved through accepting culture of one other.