Nowadays, a lot of companies switch to open offices. Do the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

It is true that recently numerous business has decided to tear down cubicle walls in workspace. While I understand that critics may object this as a non-traditional office design, I would contend that the drawbacks are overshadowed by the benefits.

There are innumerable reasons why people might disapprove of shared office space. The first objection is that employees will suffer from auditory and visual distractions. In some corporations, people used to have their own working areas distinctively divided either by using walls or partitions, which would in turn concentrate on their work. It means that, employees might now be distracted by co-workers congregating nearby, whether intentionally or not, in the open workplace, thereby reducing productivity and effectiveness in working process. Another justification is the issue of privacy. Open-plan offices with no partitions on their desks will take away the privacy of a person’s workspace. To be more specific, some parts of the work including personal information will be seen and spread publicly, which may cause trouble in the future, whereas a partially enclosed office workspace provides information security.

In spite of the downsides mentioned above, I believe that workspaces with no defined boundaries such as panels or barriers is a positive approach. First and foremost, tearing down cubicle walls will help slash construction costs. In other words, eliminating the idea of partitioning contributes to enterprises’ budget for their premises development. It should also be noted that open-plan office layouts will eliminate hierarchy in working area and facilitate camaraderie among employees. This would therefore translate office into a productive hub of communication and collaboration. In addition, transparency will be increased in wall-less workspaces. It means that, without any obstructions to the view or hidden corners, employee supervision becomes more effective, which force employees to concentrate on their work and avoid distractions from subjective factors, leading to increasing productivity.

In sum, it seems to me that open-plan office design is advantageous in a variety of ways, not only creating nature friendly and effective working atmosphere in workstation but also saving surcharge for business facilities.