Nowadays in many countries more and more people are spending their time away from their families. Why is this? What are the effects on themselves and on their families?

It is observed that people with their families have spent less time. In my point of view, this trend comes from the changes in modern lifestyle, leading to both advantages and drawbacks.

To begin with, the fact that members in the family rarely spend time together is because of their busy work-study lives. Nowadays, people prioritize work more than time for their family, not only to make a living but also to have a position in society that is respected and admired by everyone. Occasionally, they have to work overtime or devote the majority of their time at the workplace, which leads to them hardly getting the time to spend with their loved ones. Besides, the generation gap is also a concern, the old and the young are different in thinking patterns, behavior, living habits and cannot find a common voice when living together which declines family bond.

Although people spending their time away from home have benefits, there are undesirable consequences for mental health and family unity. On the one hand, spending time away from other family members has the opportunity for young people to be independent when they cannot longer rely on their parents, and live more comfortably because they are not under strict control from the family. On the other hand, people spend a considerable amount of time apart from their relatives, a lack of interaction and communication might yield a feeling of constant isolation and loneliness and, thus, being damaging for a person's mind. Moreover, family members’ bonds are deteriorating.

In conclusion, modern lifestyle has made family links gradually disappear. Although spending less time with family members makes some people more comfortable living the way they want, it also decreases the emotion and unity in the family significantly.