Nowadays more tasks at home and work are being performed by robots. Is this a negative or positive development?

With the strong development of science and technology, robots are gradually taking the place of humans and becoming a common item of doing tasks at home and work at the office. From my point of view, this trend could have both positive and negative effects in equal measures.

On the one hand, there are some apparent benefits of the increasing use of robots for household chores and tasks in the workplace. The first advantage is that robots are a useful solution for the busy people’s homes. Robots can help them handle household chores such as cooking, washing, and cleaning in a quick way instead of spending an average of 2-3 hours per week doing those tasks. Besides, in large companies or offices, with the effective support of robots in handling paperwork, it has also reduced costs to pay for employees doing the same job, the accuracy in calculation tasks is also higher than humans do.

On the other hand, I would argue that several drawbacks of this development should not be overlooked. The first issue to mention is cost, the price of a robot is not reasonable for everyone who can own it at home, only rich or upper class people can afford to have such expensive technology. Between spending so much money to purchase a cleaning robot, most people will choose to make it by themselves. The more dependence on technology also affects the unemployment rate of working people as jobs are gradually replaced by robots, leading to many workers losing their main source of income.

To sum up, the growth in performance of robots in doing housework and work will have both beneficial and detrimental effects on individuals and on society.