Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause?

What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

It is true that even today, the large number of people are illiterate. Several problems have resulted from this tendency and it should be tackled by a number of effective solutions from authorites.

When people can neither read or write, they have already had some damaging impacts, both on individual interests and on social developments. In terms of the individual consequences of illiteracy, dealing with bureaucracy is a nightmare. Reading and writing, or even signning an administrative document are often necessary, for this reason, the illiterate persons face to more troubles when they have to apply for social benefits. From the perspective of society in general, it is difficult to integrate the people who are unable to read or write into the developed community. That makes the task of constructing a wealthy country challenging if the minority groups are compulsory to do sweated labor and exclude from better-paid jobs simply because they are illiterate.

Since such issues are serious, the governments and individuals should take steps immediately to address these problems. The first solution would be allocated to provide basic literacy classes in local centres in order to teach people how to read and write. Government must ensure that everyone has the right to learn the compulsory curriculum, which enables them to read and write fluently. Secondly, public authority departments must assign staff who have a specific responsibility for help illiterate persons confronting with the confusing mass of official paperwork. By this way, they will not be discriminated against, for instance by losing welfare benefits they are entitled.

In conclusion, while there are various negative consequences of illiteracy, somes appropriate steps need to be taken to solve these problems, not only by the government but also by individuals