Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, self-employment has become a choice for more number of people, instead of working for others. The main reason behind this trend is the liberty to furnish one's own schedule. However, there are several negatives which may result from this, such as higher stress level and irregular income as compare to being an employee of an organisation.

Self-employment proffers people to use their productive time with flexibility, which is the most obvious reason for them to choose self-employment as a part of their work-life. That is to say, there is basically no supervisor or manager above the people, running their own business, to suggest when to perform any task. Hence, businessmen can only decide which is the best suitable time for them to work on a specific office job and to perform as the family member's role. For example, freelancers working on software can work at any time of day or night keeping a balance between work and family life.

There are several disadvantages, too. Self-employed people have more responsibilities than people employed by others. With more responsibilities, their stress level may stay at a higher level all the time. That is to say, deviating from the requirement of their clients or not meeting with the previously agreed timeline may harm the reputation of the business holders. In addition to that, the flow of income is not regular as there is no fixed salary and the income depends on various parameters. For example, people involved in the business of seasonal fruits, like mangoes, can have income only in the season when mangoes are ripe.

In conclusion, due to the main reason of handling the business hours flexibly, many people are opting for self-employed work over being a part of any company as an employee; however, these people have to go through the hardship resulting from higher stress-level and irregular income.