Art classes such as painting or drawing are important for children's development, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people say that art subject should be mandatory for high school students as it plays an important role in children’s development. While it is true that those classes such as painting or drawing can be beneficial for the students to some extent, I would argue that it should not compulsory.

To begin with, there are several reasons why art courses contribute positively to the development of children. Firstly, those classes help students relax after getting exhausted due to main classes such as mathematics or literature. This could help the students refresh themselves and refocus on their work. As a result, they could achieve good academic outcomes. Secondly, art skills are also important for children to work as adults. For example, officers need to know how to visualize their ideas with others at workplaces.

However, I do not think high school students all need to take part in art classes. First, most students need to be well prepared for university entrance exams, so they need to focus more on subjects needed for their higher education. If they need to study classes such as painting or drawing, they might have not enough time. Furthermore, some students might find it not interesting to study this subject. According to a survey in a Japanese high school in 2010, only 45% of its students wanted to attend art classes at school.

In conclusion, while art classes bring many benefits to high school students, I disagree with the idea that the students should be forced to study that subject.