Nowadays, people waste a lot of food that is bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

It is widely believed that people these days waste more food than usual. This essay will discuss the underlying reasons and suggest some solutions to tackle this problem.

The reason why people have been throwing food away might come from the improvement in the quality of life. As a result of globalisation driving modernisation and industrialisation in countries, people now have more job opportunity with higher-paid wage. This means they will no longer have to worry about the cost of food and products as they did in the past. People with enormous income are now easier to pay off for the bill and enjoy dishes, and they could throw away food that they are not passionate about. Another point is that significant advances in technology largely applied in agriculture have produced genetically modified plants that allow farmers and gardeners to harvest efficient and productive crops. In Vietnam, for example, when food-supply chains from rural to urban areas thrive, citizens derive food from local stores each day and food is simultaneously wasted more often.

Although it is impossible to cut off people'salary to reduce the risk of throwing food away and subsequent consequences may be severe, there are still feasible measures the government should do to handle this. Firstly, national leaders must hold a campaign to educate people about undesirable outcomes of wasting food. If properly regulated, they could inculcate a sense of responsibility in people. Moreover, the authorities should have tougher penalties or stricter discipline towards unconscious individuals who waste food on purpose. This will not only save waste food but also remind other people not to do any misbehaviours or misconducts like that.

In conclusion, people nowadays tend to waste food as a result of the rise of living standard and solutions the government should do to improve public awareness of the importance of reusing food.