In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railways lines for very fast trains between cities, Others believe the money should be spent on improving public transport,

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

The last few years have witnessed a significant breakthrough in the transportation technologies. For example, the bullet-train has turned from blueprints to a real method of traveling. While some commenters believe in its fruitful effects on the economy, the others press for allocating the budget towards the maintenance of the conventional means.

As regards the analytics who support the idea of deploying new railways for the 300 miles/hour-trains, they think that, it is an ideal future investment. This because, these top-speed vehicles act as attracting points for tourists, speed lovers and businessmen. Also, their considerable impact on time saving is crystal clear. Despite this future project may erode most of the monetary allocations for the transportation's upgrading, the supporters believe that, this long term investment will aid the economy in the upcoming decade.

On the other hand, the critics of this new invention persuade for funding the conventional methods because of the crucial effects of these means on the regular citizens. For instance, a study was run by the British institute of business in Manchester city stated that, the vast majority of the commuters in the UK, that represents 70% of transportation users, tend to use public buses, underground and regular trains even for longer distances more than faster methods as planes. Thus, the researchers extrapolated that the financial factor is more vital for the average citizens than the time factor. In contrast to the bullet trains which will increase the cost of traveling in favor of time saving,

In conclusion, from my point of view, although the investment in the conventional methods does not look innovative, it has an immediate undeniable effect on the majority of people, unlike these fancy methods which target minor proportions of customers. Also, these top-speed vehicles still are used on narrow scales, and the researchers need more time to evaluate their widespread usage financially and environmentally.