Obesity in children is a serious problem in a number of countries.

Obesity is perceived as an unhealthy overweight problem usually occurring in adults who have bad lifestyles. However, in recent years the number of children suffering from obesity has significantly increased all across the world. This essay will show some light on various factors behind obesity in teenagers and their weighty effects.

To begin with, so many studies shows that an imbalanced diet and a sedentary lifestyle are two major factors that cause fatness at a young age. Firstly, children tend to be consuming unhealthy high calories fast food and gas drinks, which are full of harmful chemicals and sugar. With the marketing of fast-food brands, they tend to repeatedly consume such junk food and become stout. Additionally, most children have a very sedentary lifestyle unlike early days, they spend most of their time on computer games or indoor activities than sports or any physical activity.

As a consequence, they suffer from numerous physical and mental health issues which should be addressed as soon as possible. First of all, obesity will make the human body function work incorrectly and contribute to the risk of developing some dangerous illnesses. For example, when the body fat percentage is too high, it can be the main cause of diabetes or heart disease. Next to that, overweight children are very unhealthy and often suffer from stress and tiredness. That problem will make their work less efficient and result in lower productivity. To illustrate, an obese need to put more effort to complete a task than a person with a normal BMI.

In conclusion, obesity is a chronic health condition that affects a large youngster nowadays. It’s mainly caused by an inactive lifestyle and eating disorders and results in acute health problems and loss of productivity.