In some countries young people have little leisure time and are under a lot of pressure to work hard on their studies

What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

With the advancement of technology and the economy, students in almost all countries are subjected to a great deal of pressure, leaving them with little free time. They are, in my opinion, under a lot of pressure, which is the root of the problem. First is parental pressure, and second is competition for university places.

Every parent in the world wants to see their children have a successful career and do well in school. This means they exert an invisible pressure on their children to be successful, and it makes them spend hours each day studying and working. If they are of school age, they must attend school for 8 hours per day, and in my country, they must attend extra classes outside of school to improve their studies even further, and they must complete their homework when they return home. So, they do not have any leisure time to relax or for their hobbies.

The second cause is to reach the higher education system. Today, there are numerous universities of various types, including private universities and community colleges. But almost all parents want their children to have a place in famous universities. This contributes to the pressure on teenagers, since they must work long hours to have any chance of success.

The first solution is for parents to become aware of the effect of the pressure they have on their children. They should share more with their children in order to understand the burden that their pressures place on them and to become more empathetic with them. They should spend and help their children have more leisure time to relax and improve their children's and parents' connections.

The second solution is with the government, which should invest in the creation of more university places. This could be done by expanding the existing universities or building new ones. This would help reduce the competition for a place in university by giving teenagers more leisure time to improve their soft skills and their hobbies.