The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities to day is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a colossal upsurge in prodigies discussing the topic of effective solutions to reduce the number of vehicles in metropolitan at the present day. Although some proponents contend that these numbers can ease if limit the resident’s transport daily, I personally disagree with the above statement and opine that there are a range of methods that we can apply to mitigate this phenomenon. In this essay, I will cite some appropriate points related to the reduction of this thorny issue before my rational conclusion is reached.

In the midst of the industrialization age, it is apparent the number of car ownerships is more and more ubiquitous on every corner of the street. First and foremost, we could address this phenomenon by finding alternative methods. Instead of commuting by our car, we could use public transport such as buses, trains, etc. Secondly, the government might impose high taxes on petroleum and enact traffic laws to limit the number of private cars. The authority might allocate the permission time for using private cars and encourage people don’t use them if unnecessary. Thirdly, the government should invest more in public transport or the educational institutions should organize a paradigm that resembles the school bus to hop on and hop off children. To illustrate, Japanese authorities have capitalized on their traffic infrastructures to foster their residents to use public vehicles and even sustain the number of employees and students working outside.

Limiting the opportunity for the resident to commute outside for work and study could be admittedly seen as an efficient method whereas it doesn’t bring the optimal results for society. In spite of the fact that cutting off the need for people to travel in terms of education, jobs,… in the city could minimize the number of vehicles on the street, it still has some setbacks for the habitant. It is obvious that shopping and working on the online interface can decrease the huge number of commuters for the city but it might force people to do more desk jobs. This trend could lead to a sedentary lifestyle and affect adversely city dwellers’ health. Furthermore, it is paradoxical to deter the chance to travel outside which could urge people to become couch potatoes. Finally, cooping up in the own house for a long time can increase the illness related to mentality and physics such as stress, and obesity due to the lack of flexible movements.

In conclusion, it is all stated that the above statement can be worked while the demerits of this can outweigh the merits. I wholeheartedly assume that we can find a plethora of alternative solutions which might maintain a chance to go outside frequently for commuters and even decrease the number of carbon footprint emissions in the environment.