Overpopulation in urban areas has lead to numerous problems . Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Many issues have been arising in cities due to people's migration toward cities. Air pollution and traffic congestion are the major problems. This essay will discuss the main causes of air pollution and traffic congestion. This essay will also suggest the solutions to these problems, including widening roads and launching reliable public transport.

Air pollution and traffic congestion are ubiquitous in cities as compared to rural areas because people are moving towards urban areas to avail better job opportunities and amenities. Cars, buses, bikes, rickshaws and trucks are excreting dangerous gases and these gases are the primary reasons for surging air pollution. For instance, due to a greater number of industries and companies, most people are getting jobs pertaining to their fields. Consequently, most individuals prefer to use their private vehicles to commute to their destined offices. Therefore, problems such as air pollution and traffic congestion are increasing in urban areas.

On the other hand, Government officials should take necessary steps like ‘widening roads and reliable public transport to eradicate such issues. Introducing comfortable public transport will attract the city populace to use public transport instead of private cars and thus can alleviate the traffic rush. The roads should be widened to adjust most of the different heavy vehicles to avoid traffic congestion. For example, In UK and China, various kinds of transport have been introduced by their government officials to minimize the number of vehicles on the road and problems such as traffic rush, air and noise pollution. To recapitulate, widened roads and reliable public transport can alleviate the problems of air pollution and traffic congestion.

Wrapping it up, the increment of the population in cities, is aggravating dangerous problems. This essay discussed the problems of air pollution and traffic congestion. This essay also suggested the solutions of widened roads and reliable traffic transport to overcome these problems.