Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this
a positive development or a negative one?
In most schools around the world, students have their own mobile
phones. While these devices can undoubtedly play a role in safety,
connectedness and even learning, many schools have chosen to restrict
their use on campus. In my view, this is a positive step and can bring
benefits not only academically but physically and socially too.
Restricting phone use in the classroom itself can improve learning. This
is simply because, without these devices, there are far fewer distractions
for teachers and students. When a student has their phone in their lap or
pocket, for instance, there is an irresistible urge to check constantly for
texts, alerts or social media updates. Even the most observant teacher
cannot prevent them from sneakily checking their messages or scrolling
through this irrelevant material during the lesson. These endless
distractions draw attention away from important educational matters and
erode attention spans, which can have long-term effects on academic
progress. A blanket ban on phones during class frees learners from this
compulsive checking and allows them to focus.
In addition to banning phones in the classroom, a school that restricts
their use outside class can also expect improvements in student
well-being. Indeed, if phones are banned at lunchtime and recess,
children are forced to engage in a more meaningful and perhaps active
way with their classmates. They may play games, sports or simply sit
and chat together, activities which are far healthier than sitting alone
hunched over a screen. Without limitations enforced by the school,
children simply cannot draw the line on their phone use. These social
and physical benefits are only possible with strict mobile rules.
In conclusion, although phones are a part of our modern lives, I strongly
feel that their use in schools should be limited. With firm boundaries and
bans in some situations, students are able to learn better, strengthen
friendships and engage in healthier pursuits.