Parents should encourage their children to spend less time on studying and more time on physical activities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has raised a public concern over the past decades that children should be supported by parents in taking more hours to practice physical activities instead of spending all time on learning. I thoroughly agree with this assertion that parents should urge their children to limit the amount of hours of studying and increase more time on outside activities; and in this essay, I will support my idea with examples.

For a variety of reasons, it would be true that spending less time on studying will still help students obtain grades at school. If children find an effective learning method by themselves, they will be given greater grades by teachers who always support them to spend more and more time on learning. It also means that better grades do not require an exact amount of time which students must spend. Taking Mai Lan Huong who is recognised as one of the best students in Vietnam as an example, in her interview with Lao Dong news, she shared that she has optimized her learning time by concentrating 100% on learning and being not distracted by the notifications of phones or other matters.

Another reason why I support it is that children can take a toll on their health if they do not do any physical activities for a long time. Parents should deeply consider whether their children get better results on learning at the expense of their health. The onus of the more hours on learning of children is on their parents. It is because parents want to be proud of the grades of their sons or/and daughters in a cut-throat competition about high scores. Children need to have more time on physical activities to improve their mental and physical health.

In conclusion, I fully support the view that children should spend more time on activities which force them to have body movements and less time on learning. Although a topic will polarize public opinion, people, especially parents should prime their children’s health.