In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With the increased use of computers, the Internet, and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home.

Nowadays how people work has changed more significantly than in the past. Since the development in information and communications technology, some people have chosen to work from home, while others prefer working in their workplace. There are both advantages and disadvantages to this trend.

On the one hand, working from home has some benefits. Firstly, it can give workers more flexibility in their working lives, which may be particularly useful for parents having small children who need to be taken care of or people who live far from their place of work. Secondly, it is much more comfortable to work from home because people can take a break whenever they want. Another advantage related to this is that people have the possibility to work for companies in other countries by using the Internet, which means that they can apply for jobs not only in their local area but also in other workplaces in the world.

On the other hand, this type of work has also some drawbacks. Traveling to work and working in an office with others can be regarded as a sociable society which many people enjoy especially if they live alone. Without this social interaction, they would be able to feel very lonely. Furthermore, this may make people easier to lack sufficient discipline to complete the work they need to do if they are not surrounded by their colleagues.

In conclusion, from the things mentioned above, this development has both benefits and drawbacks. One of the most ideal arrangements would be to spend part of the week working in the office with colleagues around, and part of the week working at home with a certain amount of comfort and flexibility.