In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Back in the day, workers have to commute to their workplace. However, because of technology, there is a tendency in working at their own house. There are both positive and negative aspects of this idea.

There are many advantages when working at home. The biggest advantage of working from home brings to us is various working environment choices. For example, if you are tired of working at your desk because of its darkness, you can bring your whole project to the couch, where you can come up with plenty of fantastic ideas. Furthermore, while selecting the workplace, you can choose a wider place to work. You also can save a lot of time whilst it benefits you with the larger space for arranging your document and personal stationaries. In other words, you don't have to waste your time moving around anymore.

However, it is not deniable that this idea has a lot of disadvantages. Many distractions can prevent you from working. For instance, instead of spending time for your project which has to be delivered before 8 p.m that night, you waste hours surfing Facebook from 6 a.m and then start to work around 7 p.m. Another common problem that happened around the house you may cope with, which is pretty simple but cause various damage, is cutting power supply. Just imaging that you have finished the report at the nick of time and just 2 seconds away from sending to your boss, the electricity suddenly down. You have to wait until the power runs back, that may cost you a few hours, a promise with your boss, or worse, your job.

In conclusion, the idea of working at home has both benefits and drawbacks. Nevertheless, with the rapid increase of modern technology, this development can conquer the globe as soon as we erase its negative impacts.