In the past, people used to travel to see the difference from their home country. However, the sceneries in places around the world seem similar nowadays. What are the causes of these similarities? Do you think that the advantages of this similarity outweigh the disadvantages?

In the past, looking different from our country was the goal of travel. Yet, nowadays all sceneries in sites around the world seem similar. This is because development of technology, which have negative impact like changing of origin building’s form.

The same scenery in many places in the world is caused by sophisticated technology in this era. This definitely triggers all people to imitate without modifying information from the internet as one of the advanced technologies. Most of society tries to copy hot issues on social media and then apply these ones in their country. For example, in 2020 Eiffel Tower as a background photo became a trending topic on Twitter leading to the majority of restaurants in Southeast Asia metropolitans such as Jakarta, Hanoi, and Kuala Lumpur built an imitation of the iconic tower.

Although some countries have successfully created icons of other nations, it is the beginning of changes in their architectural concept. In developing modern buildings nowadays, never have people considered nature or local ideas whereas there are huge differences in environment and culture. As proof, almost modern architecture in the city center of Bali does not have the identity of Bali dominated by Western style with box-shaped buildings that is unsuitable for Tropic Island. To find the origin culture of the city, the tourists have to visit some rural areas like Penglipuran or Jatiluwih village.

In conclusion, the growth of technology is a factor in why the sceneries in all sites look the same. Freedom to access information encourages citizens to develop their sceneries causing the loss of their ideas about local architecture.