Paying all workers the same salary in a company promotes harmony and respect amongst colleagues.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by many people that in order to maintain peaceful environment in the workplace, all the employees should be given similar salary. I completely disagree with this view and this essay will discuss the negative aspects of this viewpoint and justify my argument.

To begin with, some people are of the opinion that if all the employees in a company are paid equally, there will be no discrimination among the employees as all are being treated equally. This would promote feeling of equality and team spirit in the company as well as maintain peace and harmony amongst colleagues. However, in my opinion this trend would have negative impact on the highly qualified and exprienced employees.

People with blue collar and while collar job should not be paid same salaries. They should be paid depending on their position, qualification and exprience. Blue collar jobs does not require high qualifications, rather requires minimal qualification and labour work. Whereas, the white collar jobs require higher academic degree and fine skills. These people have put tremendous amount of time, efforts and money to get higher degrees in a hope that one day they will be in a position to get high paid jobs and a successful life. It would be very unfair to pay same salary to people with different qualifications. Take for example, a dentist and a dental nurse cannot be paid equally, though they work in the same clinic for same amount of time.

Furthermore, the concept of paying equal salary will discourage people from pursuing tertiary education due to the fact that even after so many years of efforts and investment they are not being rewarded for their calibre. Thus, this trend would have detrimental effects on the education sector.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the view of paying same salary to all the employees in a company. They should be awarded depending on their qualifications and fine skills.