People are living longer. Some people think that this causes big problems. Others, however, think the aging population has many advantages for business, government and for society in general. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether social, governmental and economic aspects of a nation are beneficially affected by the aging population often invites polarized perspectives. While some individuals contend that this is an advantageous tendency, there is also a strong belief that this propensity is adverse. Even though both assertions, having their own set of merits, are fervently championed by different factions, the following elaboration will first delve into both of them meticulously and then my negative assessment of this matter.

On the one hand, it emerges conspicuously that seniors, particularly middle-aged ones, are of vital significance for the national politics, economy and society. In terms of politics, candidates who have a colossal amount of experience would be favoured on account of the fact that these experiences could prevent their nation from tangling into other countries’ pitfalls. In the prospect of the national economy, foreign investments would be drawn by utilising precious leaders’ experience as a medium to reach lucrative compromises with other countries in the vicinity. A living testament to this would be Xuan Phuc, the 60-year-old former Vietnamese chairman. He took advantage of his incredible communication skill to nurture a profound bond with the USA, which in turn attracted various American companies to invest in Vietnam. As a society-related result, living standards would be significantly enhanced by making use of an aging source of labor.

On the other hand, it seems to me that the aforementioned aspects' demerits could surpass their merits. Regarding politics, young brilliant candidates would be disfavoured because of the prejudice that experiential and traditional ways of operating a country are better than revolutionary ones. An unfair election would take place as a serious consequence, thus overlooking a potentially great leader of the country. Besides, in terms of the national economy, elderly people would be a salient reason that leads to economic recession and inflation because of their incapability of dedicating a substantial amount of time working, due to their low level of fitness. Subsequently, in terms of society, the young are detrimentally affected because they have to pay much more painstaking efforts to meet the fundamental requirements of not only them but also their old family members. A case in point is Japan, which witnessed a dramatic surge in the proportion of people aged more than 65, is enduring financial hardship and becomes heavily reliant on foreign employees. If this source of labour were eliminated, a serious bankruptcy in Japan would be established.

In conclusion, after detailed consideration of both pros and cons of the old generation on national politics, society and economy, I am firmly convinced that its adverse bearings significantly outweigh its beneficial impacts. In addition, it is deemed that countries ought to base on their own conditions to decide whether the increasing percentage of elderly people is profitable and whether they should impose laws to ameliorate the circumstance or not.