People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns?

It is a fact that gathering plenty of people in the same place, especially in large cities, is one of the main culprits causing environmental and social issues. Therefore, some set of thinkers supposed governments to encourage people to move to smaller vicinities. However, from my perspective, this way seems to be not really effective when it comes to real life.

A city is always an ideal place for everyone to live and work. Nevertheless, life in cities has its own potential drawbacks. The critical problems that citizens facing every day would be various types of pollution. High population density means the rate of emissions and waste are also at the top level. This phenomenon can be seen conspicuously in multiple large cities in the world where pollution is eternally a controversial issue for governments. Another difficulty involves the issue of unemployment. The cost of living in a city is usually higher than in rural areas as accommodating is much more expensive. People without sufficient skills and knowledge tend to have less chance to find a job to maintain their life in urban areas. As a result, homelessness and poverty that are the root of criminal activities happen as a matter of course.

Subsequently, a measure is given by governments to tackle this difficult situation is to stimulate inhabitants to relocate to other smaller areas. But I personally reckon that it may work ineffectively. The first reason to reinforce my belief is that the rate of air pollution is not guaranteed to lessen as their offices are still located in the city center. That means people will commute to their workplace with a much longer distance that can increase the number of exhaust fumes. The next reason supporting my opinion is finding an equivalent job in the countryside seems more challenging than in urban areas. It is undeniable that metropolises offer greater employment possibilities and a higher standard of living. Moreover, less developed towns usually provide low-paid jobs and much lower opportunity of looking for appropriate jobs.

In conclusion, although people living in big cities have to encounter a multitude of problems on a daily basis, encouraging them to migrate to rural districts is not a viable solution at least in terms of striving to alleviate pollution and the unemployment rate.