People nowadays prefer to interact online (e.g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face.

What are the reasons for this?

Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that currently people prefer interacting online to talking to other people face to face. Although I acknowledge a negative side of this trend, I believe that, overall, this is a positive development.

With respect to downside of this is communication skills of young generation. If youngsters were to use mobile phones to communicate and chat each other, their communicative attitude would see great damage; which means that they may have difficulties in socializing with others in society.This leads to people's suffering a lot and some even may commit suicide because of their data's misuse

As for the positive of the trend first and foremost, the rise in the online interaction was brought about by the advancement of internet facilities. One of the major factors is that internet enables individuals to talk to one another regardless of their geographic location at a lower cost and within a matter of seconds. Those who are leading a life with a tight budget or professionals being obliged to meet strict deadlines may enjoy these amenities. Another motivation is that not visit shopping malls, not only can consumers save their precious time and money but they would also contribute to the preservation and protection of the environment. There are many benefits that people could gain from the advanced technologies.

On the basis of points mentioned above, it can be concluded that communicate online is a more positive development than negative. Due to the benefits it entails we can turn a blind eye to the drawback of it