People nowadays send text messages more frequently than they talk on the phone. What are the reasons for this trend? Do the advantages of texting outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern era, the tendency of modern community finds easier way to communicate with each other through texting than calling on a phone. There are several reasons from this tropical issue, however, this issue, personally, I believe would bring considerable demerits which will elucidate more below.

Regarding the causes, the flexible time between the sender and the receiver is one of the main reasons why people prefer communicating on text to calling. In connection with hustle and bustle activities, they could reply their text whenever they stand in leisure time in order that complete understanding of the text content may maintain well-developed communication. Furthermore, delivering message on chat could secure any kinds of personal information delivered which will retain users’ privacy. Industry 5.0 offers the advancement of communication technology which Meta Platforms, Whatsapp Messenger, upgrade the encrypted data in digital written communication to continuously gain the trust of more than 2 billion users.

On the other hand, it seems to me that, the negative side of this could inflict misinterpretation of text message which will erode relationship building. Speaking on the phone could perceive expression and intonation both caller and receiver in which this will build up more attention, even more authoritative during formal occasion. If their conversation on chat seizes complicated understanding, they will clarify faster through verbally telephoning. Moreover, telephoning requires quick response, especially dealing with problem-solving and decision-making. To illustrate, in terms of company’s success to handle a complaint, they prioritise call answering services to put consumers at the heart of a business.

In conclusion, the main factors people preferring to text message is time flexibility and efficiency along with controlling data security. Meanwhile, the demerits of this induce misconception information given both parties and undermine trust in delayed response.