People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic.

There is no doubt that criminals should be punished for their crimes. Some people think that the best solution in terms of crime rate reduction is to give prisoners longer prison sentences. However, others think there are many different ways for it. I agree with the latter argument and will discuss both views in this essay.

To begin with, they are a threat to society. If they are not punished immediately post crime there are chances that many youngsters get influenced by these goons and thereby increase in crime rate. In addition, also if they are liberated from the jail in a short span they would not fear the rules and regulations of the country and may get motivated for further theft. For instance, if a murderer gets bailed from jail early, he may get more contracts to kill others in return of wealth and he may fearlessly again do the murder without any hesitance.

However, there are some other ways to resolve this issue. As per records, there are some juveniles who unwantedly do the crime in returns with the expectations to take care of their own family. Jurisdiction can provide the facility to educate themselves in prison time. So that these uneducated or poor kids or man/woman can start with their good life in society. For instance, there are some people who are unaware that having sex before 16 years is a crime. Hence, this kind of people can learn the goods and bads for their's and surroundings well being. If the prison sentences are longer they cannot start with positivity which also can be a factor to increase the crime rate.

To conclude, Although our existing jurisdiction and society think in order to have a country without crimes to exclude criminals by giving them long prison sentences, there are alternatives which will not only help to reduce the crime rate but also will give second chance to those criminals improve themselves.