People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other

vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

It is widely believed that one solution to environmental problems would be for governments to

raise the price of petrol. While I consider that this might be an effective measure, I would argue

that other measures might have an even greater impact.

If national authorities raised taxes on petrol, this would address two environmental issues.

Firstly, in terms of private cars, motorists would limit the number and length of their journeys

to compensate for the extra expense. Governments would then be forced to upgrade and expand

public transport provision, as people would still need to travel to work, to school or to travel to

shops and hospitals, for example. Secondly, from the perspective of freight services, more

goods would have to be transported by rail rather than by truck. Both these measures would cut

down on emissions from vehicles and help to reduce the greenhouse effect.

On the other hand, while this rise in fuel prices might be a useful stopgap measure,

governments could adopt transport policies which would be more effective in the long term.

The local authorities in London, for instance, introduced a congestion charge on all vehicles

visiting the city centre. They use the money raised to subsidize the cost of fares and to invest in

transport infrastructure. In turn, this has improved the air quality in the city, as a result of the reduction in exhaust fumes. Another policy would be to introduce free bus and train passes, asthe increased use of public transport would reduce pollution from private cars and help in the

effort to combat global warming.

In conclusion, a sharp rise in petrol prices would be a useful environmentally-friendly transport

measure, although in the longer term other steps would be more effective.