The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The advent of information technology has transformed the way people live. While there are some benefits to collecting personal information, I believe that such information is more likely to be used to manipulate the public.

Admittedly, collected information can be utilised to make life easier. In the past, people spent more time choosing books to read, finding restaurants to dine and planning trips. Today, people leave their “digital trails” about what they do online, which is collected, stored, and analysed by complex, sophisticated algorithms. Based on the data collected, computers will offer unique suggestions to each individual. For example, Netflix usually offers informed recommendations to audiences as to which movies suit their taste. The collection and exploitation of personal information has therefore made life more convenient.

However, I believe that people now have less control over their lives in this contemporary society. Many decisions made every day are influenced by AI to some extent. Today, advertisers often target vulnerable groups of customers by showing them the appealing images of their products, as in the case of many alcoholics seeing spirits advertising everywhere. In the same way, companies and organisations that have data can manipulate people, subtly nudging them towards certain schools of thought. A clear illusion of this is that advertisers may show Facebook users the information they want them to read, and subsequently change their attitudes towards a social issue such as the 2016 presidential election.

In conclusion, I believe that the collection of personal information is more worrying than beneficial. At a grassroots level, people should be wary of sharing their information when they are online.