In recent times, economic growth has helped many become richer, both in

developed and developing countries. However, those in developed countries are

not as happy as they were in the past. Why is this? What can be learned from this?

Although economic growth has contributed to increase the number of rich people in both developing and developed countries, people in developed countries feel as not satisfied with their life as they did in the past. It is caused by many reasons and also provide us many valuable lessons. I will give my viewpoints in this essay below.

On the on hand, the economic growth brings beneficial effects on people’s life. Due to the economic development, workers have more potential job opportunities to increase their average income. As the result, the percentage of population becoming rich as the development of economy go up significantly in recent years. One clear example is the hospitality industry which is the new career trend in the last decade. As the income of people rises, people would rather travel and stay in luxury hotels than stay home. Therefore, the annual revenue of hotels increases dramatically and the hoteliers become more and more richer than they did in the past.

On the other hand, rich people are not always feel happy with their achievement. It is true that the higher amount of money successful businessmen earn, the greater pressure they have to work under. For instance, the percentage of Japanese suiciding as working stressfully of Japanese has been grown quickly. The high workload reduce the time spending for social relationships of workers and cause various mental health problems such as anxiety disorder, depression. Therefore, people should balance their career ambition and their life to live more meaningfully.

To sum up, although the economic growth provides people many opportunities to become richer, we should balance between our work and our life to spend time on other social activities and reduce stress in the daily life.